Last Minute Lent Ideas

I don’t mean to be rude but, if you still haven’t decided what you are giving up for Lent, you’re kinda late. I was surprised when I talked to a few of my friends in my youth group to hear that they actually weren’t definite about anything yet. We are already four days in; that’s four days wasted! Nonetheless, I though I might post a few ideas just in case you are in the same boat as those people. No judgement, but maybe pick something soon? Coming up with something creative to give up or do for Lent has always been one of my favorite parts of being Catholic – so these won’t be the typical “give up chocolate!” ideas.

  • Pray the Divine Mercy Chaplet once a day – The Divine Mercy Chaplet (aka The Chaplet of Divine Mercy) is shorter than the Rosary, but I really love to pray it. It is a bit less of a time commitment, so that may be helpful for you. It is also the Year of Mercy, so totally appropriate. Plus, it is really easy to learn if you have never prayed it before.
  • Leave encouragements in public places – I did this one last year. I kept a stack of sticky notes on me at all times, and whenever I was in a public place I left a little encouraging note. They could be as simple as drawing a smiley face or as intricate as leaving an entire sentence! I put a lot on public restroom mirrors. But you could also leave them on racks in a store or tables at a restaurant.
  • Stop listening to secular music – Hear me out, I’m not saying secular music is bad. But only listening to Christian music could end up being really enlightening. I have never taken this challenge, but I know a few people that are doing it this year – including my priest!
  • Give up filtering and editing pictures – This is what I’m doing this year. Click here if you want an in depth explanation of why.
  • Don’t sleep in your bed – A long time ago I had a friend that literally gave up her bed for Lent. She slept on the floor with a blanket and pillow. I think this is an amazing show of humility. At the time I thought she was crazy. Now I just think she was a genius.
  • Don’t use hot water – In other words, take cold showers. This would be such a huge thing for me, so God bless you if you can pull this off for 40 days.
  • Keep a journal – Try starting to journal about your day, especially how you felt spiritually! This could be really great for your mental health, and it still counts as giving something up because journaling takes time.
  • Go to the Stations of the Cross every Friday – My church offers them every Friday in Lent, so your church may as well. Make it a point to go every week in Lent. Or, if you can’t make it, look them up and pray them.

So there you go. Those are my ideas. I hope I helped you out a bit in your hurry to find a Lenten promise! God bless you with whatever you decide to do!

Leave a Reply

