Praying for the Sick

My mom is sick right now. She has RA (rheumatoid arthritis), and contrary to popular belief, this disease affects a lot more than just your joints. Her entire body – organs and all – is under constant attack from this disease. Because of the medicine she is on to keep the pain under control, her immune system is incredibly weak and unable to fight off illness. As of today, she has been sick for two whole weeks. This is not like her. I have never seen her so vulnerable. So today I want to release a prayer on my blog to both raise awareness and, hopefully, send a few more prayers up to the big guy to get her, and other people suffering, well again. So please read the prayer below and the few words I leave after it.

Dear God, thank you so much for the blessing of my mother. I am so thankful to have her as a steady point in my life. Today I am writing to ask that you may give her and her body the strength to overcome her illness. She feels weak right now. She feels frustrated and scared and small. I know that you have the power to make her well again, but please give her the openness to accept your power into her heart. Encourage her turn her frustration over to you. Lead her to let you heal her.
I pray for my mother’s health, but also the health of others suffering from similar afflictions. Across the world there are people suffering from sickness due to RA or side effects from their RA medication. I don’t pretend to know their pain or their daily struggles, but please help them to know that you are with them. Help them to let you heal them. I pray that those suffering get access to the correct medications, that those medications help them, and that they are well and whole some day soon. I pray that with every painful step they take, they know you are cheering them on. Your love is so encouraging, and I ask that you send that encouragement directly into the hearts of those patients that need it today, and always. Much love and Amen.

I hope this prayer finds everyone that reads it in good health. Thank you for praying with me and for my mom. If you would like to leave any words of relation, encouragement, or prayer below, I would so appreciate it. Thanks again and I will see you around soon.

6 thoughts on “Praying for the Sick

  1. What a beautiful, amazing daughter you are, Elizabeth. Your Mom is blessed to have you and you, her. She must be everything you say and more because of who you are. At 3:00 p.m. today, I will include you both in my prayers. A blessed Good Friday…Jesus we trust in You.

    Like

Leave a Reply

