Blessings and Beauty: Day 35

image

Today I think awareness is beautiful. But that, I mean awareness of medical issues. So often, people don’t go to any trouble to learn about any disease or illness until they are personally affected by the specific disease or illness. And then, they can’t believe how few people know about it and everything it does to a human. So when someone is aware of this fact, and is acting in the opposite way, I find it beautiful. When so many people around the world raised awareness for ALS, even though most of us didn’t know what it was – that was beautiful. And now so many people know about it, including myself. I knew nothing before I dumped a bucket of freezing cold water over my head.

Awareness of any illness is important. Knowing the struggles of people around you is thoughtful and human and helpful. Just having that knowledge and passing it on could save a life. Like the signs of a stroke or heart attack. The symptoms of appendecitis. What Altzimers is and how people living with the disease live day to day. I watched Still Alice the other day, and I cried. I don’t know anyone that is super close to me with Altzimers – but one day I might. It is important to me that I am aware I am not invincible. I am not exempt from the afflictions of our world and bodies. Life is hard. Spreading awareness about how Anxiety affects a person is important. Something so common should be common knowledge. How to know if you’re actually depressed or just sad is important. Awareness can save lives, and it’s so easy. It’s so beautiful when I see it. When the world comes together and the grapevine spreads the word, it is beautiful.

Awareness, and the help of people who are aware, is what let’s me hang out with my friends. It let’s me go shopping and go to school. It helps me buy groceries and say hello to strangers. If awareness wasn’t there, I would not be able to handle my anxiety. Nobody would ever have noticed the signs, and I would be spiraling instead of getting better. Awareness is important. And beautiful.

One thought on “Blessings and Beauty: Day 35

Leave a Reply

