If We Were Having Coffee… 05.15.2016

If we were having coffee…

I would tell you all about my visit with my best friend. He lives in Missouri, I live in Indiana, and on his way home from Yale he stopped by to see yours truly! Our friendship has lasted for years like this; we are masters of the long distance friendship. So we had a sleepover and talked until four in the morning and enjoyed some cold pizza. The dynamic of a relationship like ours is so odd. We see each other once, maybe twice, a year. And yet when we get together it is as if we see each other every day. We fall right into each other’s habits and make fun of each other’s appearances. We are such stable parts of each others lives that it doesn’t make sense to be any other way.

If we were having coffee…

I would tell you that there are some issues with my mental health diagnosis right now. It isn’t doubted that I have Generalized anxiety disorder, but now there is the possibility of a touch of bipolar disorder as well. This shocked me, but my doctors are helping me to figure it all out. It has made me really think over the stigma that surrounds bipolar disorder though. As soon as my doctor uttered those words I was scared. I pictured angry, uncontrollable people. All I could think in was stereotypes, and I realized that I really know nothing about the condition at all. I will be doing some research in the next few weeks as I attempt to sort this all out. But your prayers are appreciated.

If we were having coffee…

I’d tell you that God has answered one of my prayers with a blatant sign. He all but smacked me in the face with it. It has to do with a boy. If you know me even a little bit, you know that boys and all things remotely related to relationships do not come around too often for me. But God is sending me this sign that says this one is special, now stop being stupid. And who am I to say no to that? It isn’t something that is going to happen overnight, so don’t get your hopes up for the juicy details to come in the next few #weekendcoffeeshares. I will share whatever news I have, but this will not be a soap opera. At least I hope not.

But in all honesty, I am really excited about the stuff that God is doing in my life right now. I can see him turning me into a better person with every sunrise. I like to think that I put in a lot of that work, but he carried me through it all. He is working wonders on me and I just need to let him do it. I am so controlling and it is so hard for me to let go, but I need to. He knows what he is doing, I just have to let him guide me.

Sorry, I was so busy talking I never even drank this coffee. Do you think they can nuke it for me?

Leave a Reply

