If We Were Having Coffee… 06.17.2016

If we were having coffee…

It would have to be sometime in the afternoon. I am so tired lately. It takes all of my will to keep my eyes open when I wake up in the morning. Thanks for being willing to have an afternoon caffeine run with me. You’re really just so amazing.

If we were having coffee…

I’d tell you about how busy I have been getting things ready for college. I just had my orientation and got my schedule! I am so excited to get to my university and go to the classes and learn such awesome cool things. Whenever anyone asks if I am excited for the freedom I feel odd when I say yes. I don’t want to be one of those girls that drinks and sleeps with a boy she just met. I don’t want to be at parties every other night when I could be watching movies with friends in my dorm. When people ask if I’m excited for the freedom, they are referring to this ability to do all these things without reprimand from my parental units. But freedom means so much more than that. So when I say yes I am answering what freedom really means to me, but they picture me in a group of girls taking turns at beer pong. I’m worried about the atmosphere. I’m worried about the pressure and the ideas about who I am going to be at college. I know it doesn’t make any sense. Why am I letting all of this get to me right now? I could use some counsel I guess. I know that I will be able to fall in with a group that thinks the same way as me, but will I be dealing with this stereotype of a college kid for the rest of my college years?

If we were having coffee…

I’d tell you that I feel like God has really been shaping my life like clay lately. I can see real art starting to take shape and I’m really excited. And I’m really proud. It has taken a long time for me to feel safe and trusting enough to let Him mold me the way I am meant to be molded. I see the love and the joy starting to take place. I wish I would’ve started this journey so much sooner, but God’s timing has been so divine. It all happened exactly when it was supposed to. And He knew I would see that. He knows me.

If we were having coffee…

I’d tell you I have been neglecting my blog a bit. I haven’t been regular. But my faith life has seemed to blossom in my absence here. I find myself really thinking about things that are happening in my life more often now. I’m really happy about it. I also ordered a devotional. I have never had a devotional before. I am really excited to start using it. I have high hopes for where my faith life is going. Every time I open another door I discover so much I didn’t even know existed for me. God just continues to amaze me. I just need to share more of it here for you guys to read.

If we were having coffee…

I’d tell you that there is a man in my life. I mentioned him a few weeks ago. Slowly, ever so slowly, things seem to be changing between us. I can’t describe it right, but I know that God is in the midst of it. I know that He brought us together and that He has the plans for us in action. There is a divine something going on. It has been incredibly hard to keep myself in check. I find myself praying and simply talking to God all the time about it. Searching for counsel and guidance. I am not very experienced in this kind of relationship. It seems so much more special than anything I’ve ever been involved in. Will you pray for me? Will you pray for him?

Thank you for listening to me this week. I know that sometimes I ramble. You are so kind to stick around even though our coffee is long gone. I am so happy to have a friend like you.

One thought on “If We Were Having Coffee… 06.17.2016

  1. I’ve been remiss at reading and responding to other people’s blogs! I wanted to take a moment to recommend when you get to college, if you are going to a secular school, check to see if there is a Newman Center on your campus. It’s a Catholic ministry, geared toward helping students continue on their faith journey and walk during their college years. Granted, I didn’t get involved at my university, but looking back, I might have been able to grow spiritually and with lasting friendships from college, had I given the Newman Center a chance!

    And, I hope you are enjoying your summer, gearing up for school in the fall! College is a time of transition, and a great time to learn who you are, and really seek God’s will – if you are willing to talk with Him, and more importantly, listen to Him. I wish you the best of luck – rest in the fact that His will be done, and like you referenced, He is the Potter, you are the clay!

    Like

Leave a Reply

