When People Go Missing

I haven’t been here. I know. It’s been ages. But hello! I am here now and I intend to stay around and get back into writing for an audience other than my college professors. I apologize.

In other news, I started college. I’ve been here about two months now and I am loving it. I am busy all the time, tired all the time, and adulting all the time. Its overwhelming. I know that the first three weeks were the biggest adjustment, but I feel like I am still adjusting every morning when I open my eyes. There are little things like waking up in a lofted bed facing the opposite way as my bed back home. Then there are big things like having classes with world class professors that grade your very amateur papers with a heavy red pen. There are so many things to adjust to, but mostly I just want to tell you how much I am enjoying myself and why I wasn’t blogging for a bit.

Starting college turned out to make me much busier than I expected. For example, I thought I would have all the time in the world to Netflix binge in my free time. First of all, what free time? Second of all, I spend any moment that I am not doing homework sleeping. Trying to squeeze at eight hours into a 24 hour period proves harder than expected. So, being busy was a big part of my absence here. I was just otherwise occupied. I was also enjoying myself. If I am being honest, I can really only commit to so much writing in a period of time. I love writing, but working on a five page essay, balancing the paragraphs I have due before recitation, and catching up on my film journal is a bit much for one girl to take over one weekend.

So, I went missing.

I know I just dropped off the face of the earth for a while there. I wasn’t giving up on this blog, I was just a bit preoccupied. But I have been keeping notes on things I want to share here. Like the fact that I am attending a new church here at college. Or the fact that I have a boyfriend. Or that balancing social, spiritual, and family lives is actually harder than expected. There is more to come from your favorite Catholic redhead, just give me a chance to actually write and post. I miss it here.

All my love-

 

Leave a Reply

