Skulls

Sometimes I let my mind erase what my friends actually look like. When I’m sitting around the dinner table with my group of friends, I am suddenly dining with skeletons. I can see their jaws click open and close with the words their imaginary lips and tongues are forming. Their eye sockets gape back at me as I deliver the punch line of a joke. They become something of people’s nightmares, but never actually change from their true form. We too often forget that underneath these blonde locks, fingernails, eyelashes and flesh, we have skeletons holding us together.

Its rare that I think of the fact that underneath my pale skin there are bones that will, one day, be all that is left of my body. Everyday, I conveniently overlook the fact that my jaw clicks in that same way when I speak, my eyes gape, my spine swerves, and my knees buckle. We all do. And then we take that image and separate it from our own humanity by using it as some sort of monster to hang on our doors come October 31st.

In our minds, skeletons represent death. You should never see a person’s bones unless, of course, they are no longer living. But because of this idea, we have managed to take the skeleton out of the human category. We can take it and make it something we control and manipulate into a mindless creature that rattles and shakes to scare children. But if we all had x-ray vision right this second, we would be surrounded by that nightmare all the time.

Put that thought into your mind. Look around the room, around the table, around the park. Does the image frighten you? Why should it? Every day we walk and talk with each other, forgetting the fact that God built us up with a skeleton first. Why does our own anatomy terrify us? Look at your hand and remember the joints that hide underneath your wrinkled knuckles. He created our human bodies, bones and all. You are a work of art, and if that’s terrifying, so be it.

Just something to think about as you walk the streets tonight, surrounded by human bones.

One thought on “Skulls

  1. This reminds me of Psalm 139:14.
    “I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made, your works are wonderful, I know that full well.”
    Fearfully and wonderfully are two adjectives that go very well with what you wrote. Great blog post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

